• Symphony No. 7
  • By Carl Vine
  • 12-0571572235
  • $49.95
  • Full Orchestra
  • Score
  • Full Orchestra
  • (+)
Rich, colorful, and multi-layered, Carl Vine's Symphony No. 7 (2008) is subtitled "scenes from daily life." The first two "scenes" mirror the same idea from opposite sides: the first allowing competing energies to collide into uniformity, the second moving from unison to plurality. The third and fifth are slow meditations on loss and beauty, separated by a contrasting scene of skittish energy. The 24-minute work ends with an unnerving danse macabre.