• William Byrd Suite
  • By William Byrd / arr. Douglas E. Wagner
  • 00-45834
  • $49.00
  • String Orchestra
  • Conductor Score & Parts
  • String Orchestra
  • (+)
The keyboard music of English composer William Byrd (1543--1623) has long been regarded as some of the most representative works produced during the late Renaissance period. The Fitzwilliam Virginal Book, the quintessential source of music for this idiom of the time, is also the source of the three Byrd titles included in this suite: "The Bells," "John," and "Sellinger's Round."

The arrangements by Douglas E. Wagner are richly scored to flatter the sound of ensembles of any size. Care has been taken to eliminate technical obstacles for younger players, with musically interesting individual parts a strong consideration. (4:25)